Create a New User

You may create unlimited number of users and give them access to specific data and functions.

To Create a New User, Edit or Delete an Existing one, select Access Control - User Setup from the Edit menu.

Note: This feature is also available in Enterprise Version under Configuration>User Setup in the web interface.

Highlight the user to Delete or Edit and click corresponding button. Click New User to create a new one.

Fill out the User Name, Full Name, Password and Re-Enter Password. Note that the User Name and Password must be at least 4 letters.
Select a User Logo for the user.
Select a Owner for the User. The Owner property is used to group users together. A User can only Edit and Delete Users over the Web who have the same Owner as he.
Select a Contact Group for the User. The Owner property is used to group contacts together. A User can only Edit and Delete Contacts over the Web who have the same Contact Group as he.
Select a Language for the user. The user will view the VDV web in the Language selected.
Enter a Description for the user.

Next Select the Sites you wish the User to have access to. If the User should always have access to all Sites, even when new Sites are added later, then check the All Sites box.

  • Display Welcome Page If unchecked then the user is taken directly to the first Page on login rather then the Welcome Page.

Functions

  • Save Data Allows the User to Save data to his computer.
  • View Table Allows the User to view data as numeric values in a table.
  • Scroll Data Allows the User to Scroll to view older data. The default view only displays the latest 2 days of data, if the user does not have access to Scroll Data then he can only view those 2 days.
  • Auto Refresh Allows the User to automatically refresh the data in the web browser, thus always displaying the latest data.
  • Page Info Allows the User to view Page Information.
  • View Log Allows the User to View the Log messages for Sites he has access to.
  • XY Graph Allows the User to view the XY Graph.
  • Windrose Allows the User to view the Windrose.
  • Distribution Wind Rose Allows the User to view the Distribution Windrose.
  • Filter Wind Rose Allows the User to view the Filter Wind Rose.
  • Histogram Allows the User to view the Histogram Graph.
  • Sort by Size Allows the User to view the Size Graph.
  • Overlay Graph Allows the User to view the Overlay Graph.
  • Intensity Plot Allows the User to View the Intensity Plot.

Real Time Displays

  • Real Time Display Gives the user access to view Real Time Displays.
  • Active Links Gives the User access to click RTD Links.
  • All Displays Gives the User access to all RTD even if new Maps are added later.

If the User does not have access to All Displays click Select RTD and choose the maps the user is to have access to.

Webcam

  • Webcam Allows the User to view webcam.
  • Comments Allows the User to add a comment to webcam pictures.

Notes

  • View Type: There are 4 types of access that can be given to a User. No Access, the User cannot view Notes. View, the User can only View Notes. Edit, the User can view Notes and also create new Notes and Edit notes that he has created. Admin, the User can view Notes and create new Notes, he can also Edit all Notes.

Notes Type Allows the User to create new Note Types and edit existing Note Types.

 

Advanced

  • Wind Energy Allows the User to view the Wind Energy Control.
  • Displacement Graph Allows the User to view Displacement Graph. Access to Displacement Graphs is linked to Owner. The User can view all Displacement Graphs that have the same Owner as the User.
  • Manual Collect Allows the User to start a Manual Collection of data through LoggerNET for Sites he has access to
  • Gmap Allows user to access the Google Map view. User can see all sites that he has access to and are configured to show on the Map.
  • Gmap Site Setup Allows users to configure Sites to show on the Map.
  • Site Setup Allows user to change Site Setup online similar as in db.robot.c. User can change Site name, toggle Site Active status, change its owner, change Variable alias and Variable Units.
  • Validation Setup Allows user to configure Validation like in db.robot.c.

Users

  • New User Allows the User to create new Users. It is not possible to give a new User more rights then the current User has.
  • Edit User Allows the User to Edit users. If the User is connected to a Owner then he can only Edit those users who are also connected to that same Owner.
  • Delete User Allows the User to Delete users. If the User is connected to a Owner then he can only Delete those users who are also connected to that same Owner.

 

Contacts

  • Contact Setup Allows the User to create, edit and delete Contacts and Contact Groups. If the user has access to only one Contact Group then he only has access to contacts in that Contact Group.

Notice: The Contact function is only visible if the Alarm Toolkit or the Report Toolkit has been purchased.

 

Alarms

  • Alarm Overview Allows the User to see a list of Active Alarms
  • Alarm Setup Allows the User to alter the Alarm Setup for Sites he has access to.
  • Alarm Confirm Allows the User to Confirm Alarms belonging to Sites he has access to.
  • Data Overview Allows the User to see a list of Sites he has access to and the last update time for those sites.

Notice: The Alarm functions are only visible if the Alarm Toolkit has been purchased.

Manual Input

  • New Records Allows the user access to add new Records to Sites that he has access to and have been configured to allow Manual Input.
  • Edit Values Allows the user access to edit values for Sites that he has access to and have been configured to allow Manual Input.
  • Delete Records Allows the user access to delete Records for Sites that he has access to and have been configured to allow Manual Input.

Notice: For Manual Input the User must have access to the Manual Input function and also the Site must be configured to allow Manual Input. Sites are configured for Manual Input in db.robot.c, please refer to the help file for db.robot.c for more information.

Documents

  • View Type: There are 4 types of access that can be given to a User. No Access, the User cannot view Documents. View, the User can only View Documents. Edit, the User can view Documents and also create new Notes and Edit Documents that he has created. Admin, the User can view Documents and create new Documents , he can also Edit/Delete all Documents.

NOTE: User will see all Documents that are connected to the same Owner that he is connected to as well all Documents that are connected to Sites that he has access to.

Press the Create User button when done.